HOME | Free Newsletters | Email Story | Print Story | Comment on Story
Indiantelevision.com's Breaking News
Radio FM to propogate International Film Festival
Indiantelevision.com Team
(1 October 2003 7:30 pm)
NEW DELHI: In a bid to further broadbase the relevance of international film fests held in India, the Directorate of Film Festival (DFF) has decided that FM radio channels would be used to propagate information about the 34 International film festival of India to be held here from 9 -19 October.

At a press conference, held on 1 October, DFF head Neelam Kapur told journalists: "There are various ways of popularising and propagating about the film festival. Keeping pace with the changing times, we have decided to use the FM radio channels this year wherein interviews, information and details about other activities would be aired on the FM channels as it's also a popular medium amongst people."

With films being targeted as a big revenue earner for the country, India's information and broadcasting ministry has sanctioned a budget of Rs 16 million. The state government of National capital territory of Delhi will bear the cost incurred on hotel accommodation, domestic air travel, international air travel, outdoor publicity and hiring of transport.

For the film aficionados, here's some details about the 34 IFFI where the topics for seminars also include the effect changing technology has had on the process of film making.

The festival offices will be located within the Siri Fort Complex, New Delhi.

Theatre-wise details are given below:

For Press & Delegates
1. SIRI FORT - I Cinema of the World
2. SIRI FORT - II Indian Panorama / Asian Competition/Indian Retro
3. SIRI FORT - III Foreign Retrospective / Indian Panorama (N/ Features)
4. SIRI FORT- IV Market Screening/Spill Over of some Retros For Public: (i) ANUPAM - PVR (2) (ii) ANUPAM - PVR (3) (iii) ANUPAM - PVR (4)

The festival logo is based on the National bird Peacock and the posters on display for this year have been designed by DAVP. It maintains the essential theme of the festival, Vasudhaiva Kutumbakom (The whole world is one family). The IFFI poster gives an impression of a peacock dancing on the globe, heralding the festive mood.

The Inaugural Function of the 34 International Film Festival of India (IFFI 2003) will be held on the evening of 9 October 2003 at Siri Fort Auditorium - I, New Delhi. The chief guest will be the deputy prime minister L K Advani and the guest of honour will be Kamal Hassan, Kareena Kapoor will be the Thali girl.

The highlight of this festival would be the Asian Competition Section. This will present the latest cinematic trends in Asia and would be screened before an International Jury of five members. An Asian Director will give the Golden Peacock award for the 'best film' while the Silver Peacock will be given to the most promising Asian Director. A 'special jury' award will be given to the director of a film for his individual artistic contribution. This section will consist of attractive cash prize of Rs 500,000 (Golden Peacock), Rs 250,000 (Silver Peacock) and Rs 250,000 (Special Jury Award) respectively, a medal and a certificate.

About 55 films from around 40 countries, made in the last two years, will be presented in this section. These include films, which have won international awards or have earned critical acclaim.

This section will include various packages of films that will try to reflect the rich cultural flavors arising from the social milieus of different countries in Asia, Europe, Africa, & South America.
1. Retrospective of films by Lars Von Trier.
2. Retrospective of Martin Karmitz
3. Country focus on Switzerland.
4. Seminar on Literature & Cinema.
5. Technical Retro.

18 feature and 13 non-feature Indian films selected by a selection panel of eminent film personalities under Indian Panorama scheme will be screened under this section.

12 popular Indian films released during 2002 will be screened during the Festival.

A total of 11 feature films directed & produced by B R Chopra and K S Sethumadhavan representing social issues in Indian cinema would be presented. Special homage will be paid to the actress Leela Chitnis who passed away recently.

As in the past about 3000 delegates, foreign and Indian are likely to be registered for the festival. The foreign delegates would include film personalities, directors, actors, actresses, producers and representatives of film organizations, International film festival directors and selectors and journalists.

As in previous years, films journalists and critics from all over the country will be accredited to the festival. An accreditation committee headed by the principal information officer to the government of India will go through the applications and select critics for accreditation. A fully equipped media centre will be set up at Siri Fort.

It is proposed to have two seminars on the subjects viz.
(1) Seminar by Indian Organisation and Mass Communication, FFI & FFSI titled. "Intellectual & Property Theft"
(2) Seminar by FFSI titled "Literature and Cinema".

The Federation of Film Societies of India (in the city where the festival will held) will organise an open forum for initiating a dialogue between filmmakers, critics and delegates.

12. BUDGET The Ministry has sanctioned a budget of Rs. 16 million. The State Government of National Capital Territory of Delhi will provide hotel accommodation, domestic air travel, international air travel, outdoor publicity and hiring of transport.


sr no Title Director Country
1 Story of lotus Qi Jian China
2 Cinderella bijan birang Masoud Rassam Iran
3 Anaahat (Eternity) Amol Palekar India
4 Prohor (In course of time) Subhadro Chowdhury India
5 James journey to Jerusalem Ra'anan Alexandrowicz Israel
6 Five in the afternoon Samira Makhmalbaf Iran
7 Gomen (Sorry) Shin Togashiq Japan
8 Unborn but unforgotten Im Chang Joe Korea
9 Ira Madiyama (August Sun) Prasanna Vithanage Sri Lanka
10 Sulang Kirilli (The Wind Bird) Inoka Sathyangani Kerthinanda Sri Lanka
11 The Unborn Bundit Thongdee Thailand

1. Krzystof Zanussi - Chairperson
2. Ms. Peng Xiaolian - Member
3. Mr. Istvan Gaal - Member
4. Mr. Girish Kasaravalli - Member
5. Mr. Gautaman Bhaskaran - Member

Go to Top
Click here for more Headlines
Also Read: CAS News | MAM Stories | Headlines | Technology Update | Tube Talk | Perspectives
HOME | Free Newsletters | Email Story | Print Story | Comment on Story

Contact Us | Feedback | About Indiantelevision | Disclaimer
2001- 2005 Indian Television Dot Com Pvt Ltd. All Rights Reserved.